Race Recap – NYC Half

On Sunday morning ; I woke up at 2:45am to the sound of my alarm clock. I thought "The day is here, I can't even believe it." I quickly got dressed,  grab my baggage and was out the door! Hubby drove me to the local bus stop where I caught a bus to NYC! I had hoped to catch some zzz's on the way into the city, but that didn't happen.  Last year, I had to sit out NYC Half due to a stress fracture in the 2nd metatarsal of my left foot. The morning of the race ; I was filled with joy; excitement and as always a little bit of nervousness. "Will the race go as planned? " "Will that 20 mile I did last Sunday and that 18 miler the Sunday before cause my legs to feel tired?" I decided to stop worrying and focus on the positive ; today I would be running in the city where it all began less than 6 years ago. The park (Central Park) where I ran my 1st ever race and my 1st ever half marathon! Nothing could erase the excitement that I felt that morning as I headed off to run my 22nd half marathon and 60th race. I arrived at Port Authority at 5am; my wave didn't start until 7:30am but I always like some time to relax before I race. I walked outside ; I took a look at Times Square and thought to myself in just a few short hours me and thousands of runners will run these streets!  I was overcome with emotion as I thought of it; as I thought of how far I have come since that day I ran my 1st race. I thought of the obstacles I had overcome; all the support I am lucky to have and just how thankful I was to be in that moment. ❤ I grabbed a cab and headed off to check my baggage ; entered through the metal detectors and met Sam and Shelby to wish them good luck before the race began. We lined up in our coralls, the race line up including one of my runspirations ; Meb (who I met in November) was announced. The runners cheered.  The Star Spangled Banner played and before I knew it we were about to start. I promised myself that I would run a smart race, I would enjoy every moment ; take it all in (even wore my GoPro strapped around my chest ) because although I knew I wanted to run a decent race, I didn't want to miss out on how epic this experience was going to be. I went out easy keeping my pace for the first mile in the low 8:00's; I knew how hilly the park was so I knew I needed to pace myself. I sped up a bit holding a pace of 7:47 by mile 3. At that point ; I forced myself to slow down knowing that Harlem Hill would definitely cause me to loose a bit of speed. I kept running smiling from ear to ear. We got to Harlem Hill and as I promised myself ; I paced myself the whole ride up allowing my pace to drop to 8:20 in order to save some energy for later. I won't lie; I definitely felt that 18 miler and 20 miler that I did the 2 weeks prior. My legs definitely were not feeling fresh, but I expected that in the midst of marathon training and refused to let it discourage me. I just kept on running with a big smile! We came out of the park just after mile 6; turned the bend on I was greeted by the lights and the crowds in Times Square. I continued snapping pics with my GoPro; at the same time taking it all in and flying through Times Square at a 7:30/mile pace. I truly felt like I was floating as my IPOD coincidentally played "I Just Wanna Feel This Moment. " Truly unforgettable!  Next we entered the Westside Highway ; I could feel the wind had picked up a bit but I maintained my pace , we ran passed Chelsea Piers and the Freedom Tower was in sight. Suddenly I got a burst of energy ; I took a gel and hit a few more milesat 7:30. I continued on; all smiles for the camera just thinking "I don't want this day to end!" I snapped more pics and kept running. We entered the Battery Tunnel and I knew I was almost there. I had my watch set to see my pace but I had no idea what my finish time would be. I ran strong, came put of the tunnel with pure determination as I charged up that hill and saw the signs telling me the finish line was just a short distance away! I smiled and waved as the crowd cheered us in and I crossed the finish line of my first ever NYC Half in the 22nd Half Marathon and 60th race! Finishing in 1:47:49. I may not have run a PR that day but I accomplished everything I set out to do; I ran strong and I enjoyed every single moment while still running a race I am very proud of. I even shaved 4 minutes off my previous half running today on a much more challenging course. I earned my age in medals (34) and just ran my 18th half marathon out of 22 total sub 1:48 and for that I am soo thankful. I hope you guys enjoyed my recap ; I thank you all for all of your support every single day. I couldn't have come this far or come back this strong without it! "Don't Stop Believing! "

On Sunday morning ; I woke up at 2:45am to the sound of my alarm clock. I thought “The day is here, I can’t even believe it.” I quickly got dressed, grabbed my baggage and was out the door! Hubby drove me to the local bus stop where I caught a bus to NYC! I had hoped to catch some zzz’s on the way into the city, but that didn’t happen. Last year, I had to sit out NYC Half due to a stress fracture in the 2nd metatarsal of my left foot. The morning of the race ; I was filled with joy; excitement and as always a little bit of nervousness. “Will the race go as planned? ”  “Will that 20 mile I did last Sunday and that 18 miler the Sunday before cause my legs to feel tired?” I decided to stop worrying and focus on the positive ; today I would be running in the city where it all began less than 6 years ago. The park (Central Park) where I ran my 1st ever race and my 1st ever half marathon in 2009′ in 2:25! Nothing could erase the excitement that I felt that morning as I headed off to run my 22nd half marathon and 60th race. I arrived at Port Authority at 5am; my wave didn’t start until 7:30am but I always like some time to relax before I race. I walked outside ; I took a look at a dark, empty Times Square and thought to myself in just a few short hours me and thousands of runners will run these streets! I was overcome with emotion as I thought of it; as I thought of how far I have come since that day I ran my 1st race. I thought of the obstacles I had overcome; all the support I am so lucky to have and just how thankful I was to be in that moment. ❤ I grabbed a cab and headed off to check my baggage ; entered through the metal detectors and met Sam and Shelby to wish them good luck before the race began. We lined up in our coralls, the race line up included one of my runspirations ; Meb (who I met in November) was announced. The runners cheered. The Star Spangled Banner played and before I knew it we were about to start. I promised myself that I would run a smart race, I would enjoy every moment ; take it all in (even wore my GoPro strapped around my chest ) because although I knew I wanted to run a decent race, I didn’t want to miss out on how epic this experience was going to be. I went out easy keeping my pace for the first mile in the low 8:00’s; I knew how hilly the park was so I knew I needed to pace myself. I sped up a bit holding a pace of 7:47 by mile 3. At that point ; I forced myself to slow down knowing that Harlem Hill would definitely cause me to loose a bit of speed. I took a GU, I kept running smiling from ear to ear. We got to Harlem Hill and as I promised myself ; I paced myself the whole ride up allowing my pace to drop to 8:20 in order to save some energy for later. I won’t lie; I definitely felt that 18 miler and 20 miler that I did the 2 weeks prior. My legs definitely were not feeling fresh, but I expected that in the midst of marathon training and refused to let it discourage me. I just kept on running with a big smile! We came out of the park just after mile 6; turned the bend on I was greeted by the lights and the crowds in Times Square. I continued snapping pics with my GoPro; at the same time taking it all in and flying through Times Square at a 7:30/mile pace. I truly felt like I was floating as my IPOD coincidentally played “I Just Wanna Feel This Moment. ” Truly unforgettable! Next we entered the Westside Highway ; I could feel the wind had picked up a bit but I maintained my pace , we ran passed Chelsea Piers and the Freedom Tower was in sight. Suddenly I got a burst of energy ; I took a GU and hit a few more 7:30 miles. I continued on; all smiles for the camera just thinking “I don’t want this day to end!” I snapped more pics and kept running. We entered the Battery Tunnel and I knew I was almost there. I had my watch set to see my pace but I had no idea what my finish time would be. I ran strong, came put of the tunnel with pure determination as I charged up that hill and saw the signs telling me the finish line was just a short distance away! I smiled and waved as the crowd cheered us in and I crossed the finish line of my first ever NYC Half in the 22nd Half Marathon and 60th race! Finishing in 1:47:49. I may not have run a PR that day but I accomplished everything I set out to do; I ran strong and I enjoyed every single moment while still running a race I am very proud of. I even shaved 4 minutes off my previous half on a much more challenging course. I earned my age in medals (34) and just ran my 18th half marathon out of 22 total sub 1:48 and for that I am soo thankful. I hope you guys enjoyed my recap ; I thank you all for all of your support every single day. I couldn’t have come this far or come back this strong without it! “Don’t Stop Believing! “

Leave a Reply

