Avon 5k – 5-30-15

A 5k race along one of my favorite beaches! Wasn't sure what to.expect as I raced one week ago, 😊 A bit windy/humid, then it got really hot really quick and as always I went out way too fast; looked down at my watch and saw 6:20's in the first 400 meters and forced myself to slow down. Mile one was 7:10/mile. I definitely need to pace myself better in these shorter races πŸ™ˆ Ended up placing 4th in my age group which makes me really happy as this is a really  fast race! 😊 This was my comeback race after my stress fracture last yr and this yr I took 1:00 per mile off last year's pace and that makes me soo proud! 😊 Back in the ballgame in my book and can't wait to see what the next race brings.

A 5k race along one of my favorite beaches! Wasn’t sure what to.expect as I raced one week ago, 😊 A bit windy/humid, then it got really hot really quick and as always I went out way too fast; looked down at my watch and saw 6:20’s in the first 400 meters and forced myself to slow down. Mile one was 7:10/mile. I definitely need to pace myself better in these shorter races. Ended up placing 4th in my age group which makes me really happy as this is a really fast race! 😊 This was my comeback race after my stress fracture last yr and this yr I took 1:00 per mile off last year’s pace and that makes me soo proud! 😊 Back in the ballgame in my book and can’t wait to see what the next race brings.

Leave a Reply

