Belmar Five

7-11-15 “In this world; there is no force equal to the strength of a determined woman.” This race meant a lot to me as it would be the day I would earn my 40th medal! However, one day before this race I was told by my doctor that I had a sesamoid stress fracture in my right foot (my 2nd stress fracture). Of course; the crazy runner that I am… my 1st questions was “does this mean I can’t run?” My doctor told me that running on it would not make it worse, but I definitely needed to take 2 full weeks off of running! I decided to run the race at a comfortable pace and earn medal number 40! I ran the race at a comfortable 41:47 and took the next 2-3 weeks completely off from running. I focused on strength training ; doing everything I could to keep myself strong so I could soon be healthy enough to run!
Leave a Reply

