February Miles For Melissa

february.png

Last week; I asked the running community to log “Miles for Melissa” for the 4th month in a row since suddenly losing my sister in October! In November when I started “Miles for Melissa” we logged over 400 miles then again in December over 400 as well!  In January we logged 1,134 miles and completely crushed my goal! Guess what!? In February; we did it AGAIN!!! I had a goal of 1,200 miles and although I wasn’t quite sure if we would make it; I was dreaming big! I asked runners to use the hashtag on Instagram for every run between the dates of 2/27 – 2/29. Runners from all over the globe once again joined in running in groups, running through snow and rain, dedicating long bike rides, long ultra training runs and their races (marathons) to my sister! I am completely humbled by the number of runners that joined in once again this month! This month; together as a running community we completely exceeded my goal logging 1,268.63 miles!!! Over 3,000 miles since launching “Miles for Melissa” in November!! I am so thankful for the kindness and support from runners all over the world! I will continue “Miles for Melissa” every month in memory of my beautiful sister who was a runner herself! Next run will be the last weekend in March! March 26-March 29th! This month; on March 20th I will run my 10th marathon; dedicating every single mile to my beautiful sister; my angel! I love you and miss you so very much Mel! xo

Thank you everyone from the bottom of my heart! Mere @meretherunner14

Leave a Reply

