NYRR Achilles Hope & Possibility – Race Recap

Sunday morning I headed into NYC bright & early to run my 83rd race (28th NYRR race) & believe it or not; my 2nd 4 mile race ever. It was another hot/humid summer day & well we all know how I feel about running in the heat.

AHP-6

However, I did not let that get in the way of what I thought could be a PR for me.

AHP - 2

The only 4 mile race I ever ran was 2 years ago. It was just months after returning to running after a stress fracture in my 2nd metatarsal of my left foot & I had no time goals. I ran with friends & just enjoyed the race. Today was different; today I set out to beat my best! I was determined to do the best that I possibly could in the heat. Before the start of the race the NYRR director spoke to us, he went through the safety precautions & told us to be careful in the heat. Within minutes the hand cyclists and wheelchair athletes started before each corrall started one by one; I was in corral D. For some reason my Garmin couldn’t find a signal; I realized later this was a blessing in disguise. I ran the first .6 miles with absolutely no idea of what pace I was running. At mile .6; my Garmin finally decided to ‘find me’ & by that point I had already decided that I was racing “watch less.” Hills, heat & humidity but I was feeling good; taking full advantage of the water at the water stops (sipping & pouring it over my head) & running through the sprinklers set up at each mile. As I ran; I was so inspired by the wheelchair athletes, the guides pushing wheelchair athletes, the walkers – it was truly amazing! Yes, it was hot, it was humid, it was tough but I was so completely inspired by each of these amazing athletes that I pushed through with pure determination. I refused to give less than everything I had that day! Along with mile 3 came many uphills as I expected; I paced myself properly hoping for a strong finish. I paced mile 3; I thought ‘just one mile left.” I am not sure where it came from but I got a sudden burst of energy; kicking it into high gear maintaining a pace of 7:08/mile. With just 800 meters left we passed a few volunteers & a crowd of people that yelled “just a half mile to go!” I looked down at my watch & I was still maintaining a pace in the low 7:00’s. The crowds yelled & cheered as we approached the finish line! I crossed the finish line; looked down at my watch & couldn’t believe it – I finished in 31:16 (7:49/mile)!! Nearly a 9 minutes PR!

AHP-8!

Yes it was hot, yes it was humid, yes the hills were tough but this girl refused to give up! After recovering from injury after injury over the last 3 yrs: it’s been quite a while since I could say that I PR’d & this is definitely a day I won’t forget. Overall; I felt so strong through this race & I know my sister (my angel) was beside me the whole time & there to see me PR at the 4 mile distance. ❀

After the race; I walked over to pick up my race t-shirt & check out the post-race party where I listened for the winners of the raffles.I didn’t win any prizes but this race was a win in my book!! I headed back to NJ after the race spending the rest of the day with family & friends. My sisters dog; Carter was so proud of his Auntie Mere!

AHP - 1

It was a good day! 😊 I was definitely on a “runners high” for the rest of the day!

AHP-7

I later found out that I placed 16th in my age group out of 444 females 35-39, 130th out of 2,781 females and 845th out of 5,629 runners! This was a fantastic race & I will definitely be back again next year!!!

Thank you as always for following my journey!

Mere @meretherunner14

2 thoughts on “NYRR Achilles Hope & Possibility – Race Recap

Leave a Reply

